Salah, De Bruyne Lead Contenders For PFA Player Of The Year Prize

0 266

Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne face a straight fight to be crowned the PFA Player of the Year.

The other players on the shortlist are Harry Kane, David De Gea, Leroy Sane and David Silva.

Salah is enjoying one of the greatest debut campaigns in Reds history, having scored 39 goals since joining the club from AS Roma last summer.


While Belgium midfielder De Bruyne had seemed a nailed-on winner of the 2017-2018 award, after a brilliant campaign which has seen him inspire City to the verge of the Premier League title.

De Bruyne

The contenders for the PFA Young Player of the Year have also been announced, with Fulham’s Ryan Sessegnon the surprise inclusion.

Sane and Kane are also on the shortlist for the Young Player of the Year award.

They are joined in that category by Manchester City goalkeeper Ederson and Blues forward Raheem Sterling and Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford.

PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor said: “The PFA Awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football’s social calendar.

“For the winners who are honored at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognized by your peers; an honor to be cherished.”

The winner will be announced at the PFA’s annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 22.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: