Italian GP: Pierre Gasly Wins After Lewis Hamilton Penalty

0 288

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Pierre Gasly caused a modern-day Formula 1 shock by winning his maiden race for AlphaTauri after a hugely-dramatic and incident-filled Italian GP in which Lewis Hamilton finished only seventh after a time penalty.

Lewis Hamilton was dominating until he was penalised for being called into the pit lane for a stop when it was closed.

Two safety cars in quick succession mixed up the order and Gasly took the lead after Hamilton served his penalty.

McLaren’s Carlos Sainz closed him down but the Frenchman just held him off to take his first grand prix victory.

Racing Point’s Lance Stroll was third for his second career podium, with Lando Norris fourth in the second McLaren.

Hamilton fought back from last place, 18 seconds off the back of the pack, to seventh, just two places behind team-mate Valtteri Bottas.

Incredibly, AlphaTauri – Red Bull’s junior outfit and Italy’s ‘second’ team – become the first team outside Mercedes, Ferrari and Red Bull to win a race since 2013.

He is the first Frenchman to win a race since Olivier Panis won the Monaco Grand Prix for Ligier in similarly unlikely circumstances in 1996.

Italian GP result: Top 10
1. Pierre Gasly, AlphaTauri
2. Carlos Sainz, McLaren
3. Lance Stroll, Racing Point
4. Lando Norris, McLaren
5. Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes
6. Daniel Ricciardo, Renault
7. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
8. Esteban Ocon, Renault
9. Daniil Kvyat, AlphaTauri
10. Sergio Perez, Racing Point

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: