Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 5th Ballon D’Or

0 828

Cristiano Ronaldo has equalled Lionel Messi’s record of five Ballon d’Or awards after claiming the 2017 prize in Paris.

Victory took the 32-year-old Portugal international level with 30-year-old Argentine Messi, who won the most recent of his five awards in 2015.

Messi’s ex-Barcelona team-mate Neymar, now at Paris St-Germain, was third.

N’Golo Kante (eighth) finished highest of the seven Premier League players named in the final 30-player shortlist, with Harry Kane coming 10th.

Last season, Ronaldo helped Real Madrid win the Champions League and their first La Liga title since 2012.

Ronaldo added the 2017 Ballon d’Or to those he won in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016, and Messi is the only other recipient of the award since 2009.

“This is something I look forward to every year,” he said, after receiving the award on the Eiffel Tower in Paris.

“Thanks to my Real Madrid team-mates. And I want to thank the rest of the people who helped me reach this level.”

First given to Sir Stanley Matthews in 1956, the coveted Ballon d’Or prize is presented by weekly football magazine France Football, with Ronaldo taking the prize for the first time as a Manchester United player in 2008.

Since then only Ronaldo or Messi has won the annual award.

Ballon d’Or winners: Ronaldo & Messi dominate since l.
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Fernando Torres

2009 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi

2010 Lionel Messi Andres Iniesta Xavi

2011 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi

2012 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Andres Iniesta

2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Franck Ribery

2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Manuel Neuer

2015 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Neymar

2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Antoine Griezmann

2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Neymar

Ronaldo is the all-time leading scorer in the Champions League with 115 goals.

Ballon d’Or 2017 final rankings

1 Cristiano Ronaldo
2 Lionel Messi
3 Neymar
4 Gianluigi Buffon
5 Luka Modric
6 Sergio Ramos
7 Kylian Mbappe
8 N’Golo Kante
9 Robert Lewandowski
10 Harry Kane
11 Edinson Cavani
12 Isco
13 Luis Suarez
14 Kevin De Bruyne
15 Paulo Dybala
16 Marcelo
17 Toni Kroos
18 Antoine Griezmann
19 Eden Hazard
20 David De Gea
21 Leonardo Bonucci and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
23 Sadio Mane
24 Radamel Falcao
25 Karim Benzema
26 Jan Oblak
27 Mats Hummels
28 Edin Dzeko
29 Philippe Coutinho and Dries Mertens

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: