#BallonDor: Lyon And Norway Star Hegerberg Wins First Women’s Award

0 276

Lyon and Norway striker Ada Hegerberg won the inaugural Women’s Ballon d’Or award.

The Norwegian striker, 23, helped Lyon claim the French league title and Champions League trophy, scoring in the final as they beat Wolfsburg 4-1 in Kiev.

The 23-year-old striker beat Denmark star Pernille Harder, Lyon team-mate Dzsenifer Marozsan, Brazil icon Marta and Australia’s Sam Kerr to claim title on Monday.

The award – voted for by journalists – recognises the best player in the world.

SEE ALSO: #BallonDor: Luka Modric Ends Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo Duopoly

“I want to say thanks to my team-mates because this would not have been possible without them, my coach or our president Jean-Michel Aulas,” Hegerberg said.

“I also want to thank France Football. This is a huge step for women’s football.

“I want to end this speech with a message to all young girls in the world. Believe in yourselves”

Hegerberg was the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year in 2016 and has won the league, Coupe de France and Champions League three times apiece with Lyon.

The top 10

1. Ada Hegerberg (Lyon and Norway)

2. Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg and Denmark)

3. Dzsenifer Maroszan (Lyon and Germany)

4. Marta (Orlando and Brazil)

5. Sam Kerr (Perth and Australia)

6. Lucy Bronze (Lyon and England)

7. Amandine Henry and Wendie Renard (both Lyon and France)

9. Megan Rapinoe (Seattle and USA)

10. Lindsay Horan (Portland and USA)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: