#AusGP: Valtteri Bottas Wins Ahead of Lewis Hamilton

0 212

Valtteri Bottas dominated the season-opening Australian Grand Prix after overtaking world champion team-mate Lewis Hamilton.

Bottas, a distant third in the championship and without a victory last year, overtook Hamilton off the line and went on to win the race ahead of his pole-sitting team-mate by more than 20 seconds.

Verstappen passed Sebastian Vettel for third on a sobering day for Ferrari.

“Why are we so slow?” Vettel asked his team at two-thirds distance. “We don’t know at the moment,” came the reply. It was an exchange that summed up Ferrari’s entire weekend.

Australian GP Timesheet

Driver Team Time
1) Valtteri Bottas Mercedes
2) Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +20.886
3) Max Verstappen Red Bull +22.520
4) Sebastian Vettel Ferrari +57.109
5) Charles Leclerc Ferrari +58.230
6) Kevin Magnussen Haas +87.156
7) Nico Hulkenberg Renault +1 LAP
8) Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo +1 LAP
9) Lance Stroll Racing Point +1 LAP
10) Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso +1 LAP
11) Pierre Gasly Red Bull +1 LAP
12) Lando Norris McLaren +1 LAP
13) Sergio Perez Racing Point +1 LAP
14) Alex Albon Toro Rosso +1 LAP
15) Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo +1 LAP
16) George Russell Williams +2 LAPS
17) Robert Kubica Williams +3 LAPS
Did not finish
Romain Grosjean Haas
Daniel Ricciardo Renault
Carlos Sainz McLaren

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: