9th Assembly: Ahmad Lawan is The New Senate President

0 357

Ahmad Lawan, a senator from Yobe state, has been elected president of the senate.

Senator Lawan defeated his opponent Ali-Ndume with 79 votes from the lawmakers, thereby making him the Senate President.

There was an uproar from the supporters of Lawan after the clerk announced that the secret ballot system would be adopted for the election, stating that there was a court injunction which ordered that the open ballot should be used.

Senator Lawan was immediately sworn-in by the clerk of the National Assembly.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: